Crown prince Haakon gets involved with the 2025 World Ski Championship

Published: 09. October 2023

By: Ingvil Snøfugl


His Royal Highness Crown Prince Haakon has agreed to participate in the Advisory Board for the 2025 World Nordic Ski Championships, following an invitation from the Norwegian Ski Federation. The Board met for the first time this past Friday.

The Advisory Board will meet three to four times per year leading up to the World Ski Championships in Trondheim in two years. The Board’s role will be to advise and assist the Executive Board of Trondheim 2025. The first meeting took place at the Norwegian Ski Federation’s offices at Ullevål Stadium on Friday afternoon. The Board chair is Ski President Tove Moe Dyrhaug, who was very pleased following the first meeting.

“Strong focus on sustainability”

“It’s great that H.R.H. Crown Prince Haakon is taking the time to participate in the Advisory Board. He was an avid contributor in the meeting and is very passionate about a range of crucial topics. We want to organise a new ski festival with memorable experiences. At Trondheim 2025, we have a strong focus on environmental and social sustainability, as well as inclusion, which means no one is left behind. The goal of the Championships is to inspire people to get involved in and enjoy the multi-faceted sport of skiing,” Dyrhaug says on the Norwegian Ski Federation website.

From the left: Head of Trondheim 2025 Åge Skinstad, Ski President Tove Moe Dyrhaug, H.R.H. Crown Prince Haakon and chair of the Trondheim 2025 board, Bård Benum. All photos: Claes-Tommy Herland, Norwegian Ski Federation

16 members of the Advisory Board

The 2025 World Ski Championships are owned by the Norwegian Ski Federation, Sør-Trøndelag ski district and the City of Trondheim. They are all represented in the Board, which consists of the following 16 members:

Ski President Tove Moe Dyrhaug (chair of the Board), Ski Vice President Aage Schaanning, Mayor of the City of Trondheim Rita Ottervik, Chief Municipal Executive Morten Wolden, Municipal Director of Culture and Sports Ola By Rise and County Council Chair Tore O. Sandvik.

Four members were appointed by the Norwegian Ski Federation: H.R.H. the Crown Prince, Torbjørn Skogstad/Committee Chair for cross-country skiing, Stine Korsen/Committee Chair for ski jumping and Edgar Fossheim/Committee Chair for Nordic combined.

Two members were appointed by Sør-Trøndelag ski district: District Leader Torbjørn Mæhlumsveen and Tina Lihaug Selbæk.

One member was appointed by the Norwegian Armed Forces, Jens Christian Junge.
One member was appointed by the Police, Police Chief Nils Kristian Moe.
One member was appointed by the Mid-Norway Chamber of Commerce and Industry (NiT) , Berit Rian.
FIS Council member, Erik Røste.

The Advisory Board’s next physical meeting will be at the World Championship facility, Granåsen.